Outstanding Social Studies & History Majors

This year’s Outstanding Social Studies Major is Matthew Szmania. Matthew is a senior History and Social Studies Major and the department previously recognized his hard work in 2019 at the annual awards banquet. Faculty members admire Matt’s commitment to excellence and strong communication skills. Dr. Stephen Cory remarked on Matt’s research paper in History 401: “He wrote an interesting paper […]

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

This year the Department of History is pleased to honor co-recipients of the 2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Award. Both recipients drew wide praise from faculty for their talent and determination. This year’s winners are Toni Berry and Rebekah Knaggs. Rebekah Knaggs earned her B.A. in History from the University of Cincinnati and chose CSU’s Museum Studies specialization in the History […]

Thomas F. Campbell Awards

Professor Tom Campbell was a returning adult student who started at CSU in the 1960s who went on to become a faculty member in the History Department and College of Urban Affairs, which he helped to found. He retired in 1993. In many ways, his name was synonymous with Cleveland, the city he loved and whose history he wrote with […]

CFP: Cleveland Teaching Toolkit

Cleveland Teaching Toolkit Call for Participants (this post is a cross-post from Social Studies @ CSU) Abstract Deadline: June 1, 2020 Essays Due June 30, 2020 Contact: Dr. Shelley Rose (shelley.rose@csuohio.edu) and Dr. Molly Buckley-Marudas (mbuckley67@csuohio.edu) Submit your 250-word (max) abstract here https://bit.ly/CLETeachingkitproposal As we faced the unprecedented global situation created by the COVID-19 pandemic, faculty and staff at NYU Shanghai took a […]

The Charles Z. Adamson Memorial and John A. Lonsak ’68 Scholarships

Charles Z. Adamson served as an attorney for the National Labor Relations Board in Cleveland for 35 years. A lifelong learner, after his retirement he earned a master’s degree in history from Cleveland State University. The Charles Z. Adamson Memorial Scholarship in Modern European History is awarded annually to the graduate student who wrote the best graduate student research paper […]